Welcome to today’s update. Have a quick watch of today’s video episode and join me below for the rest of the write up.

Good Friday it is. Not sure what is the origin of this name, or why someone would assume this Friday is supposed to be good for everyone, but hey, I am only cleaning here. Jokes aside, it is the big weekend for most of the Christian world, and I get it, I was raised Catholic back in the days. While I am no longer a follower of any thesis, and a free man highly trusting science and nature, I obviously respect other beliefs and understand the need for them, for those who choose to follow their paths.

While the whole context and story of Christian, or in fact any other religion so far is not convincing for me enough to participate, I see many benefits that all religions and beliefs brought to this world. One of them are amazing structures and their architecture, design, and vibe after many many years. One of them, very much responsible for founding the town that I live in now, is (or rather was) Franciscan Abbey at the shore of Donegal Bay, just at the mouth of River Eske.

This amazing building made of stone, is now ruins unfortunately, but many elements of it still stand, and remind of it’s craftsmanship and importance in the past. Couple of walls, parts of tower and particular rooms, once a huge church with a view at bay, now stand with gaps in between them filled with randomly placed graves and tombstones of different times. Some old almost like the ruins themselves, some more recent.

Walking in between those ruins and graves, neighbouring the nearby estates as well as the bay itself, I am always amazed and in awe of the sunsets happening in Donegal Town. This place is 550 years old according to writings and whatever was left along the way, and you can feel it especially when there are not tourists nearby. Even when they are, they usually come in small batches and rather during the day, hence humble me always chooses the evening time, when less people venture towards this area.

It is a very good place indeed to clear my mind, get a bit of solitude and mentally reflect and relax. As you can see, even though I am no religious man, this once religious place, gives me space and possibility to calm down. This is the reason why I think we need to be respectful for many things, even though we might not believe in them, implement in our lives or particularly support with our opinions. One sentence I always liked says: “We don’t need to agree, to respect each other.”

Today’s evening topped a very quiet Friday, that although wasn’t off for me, and filled my day with work related tasks, it was a bearable time, due to many people being offline and preparing for Easter celebration, or just using this time for their short break off work.

The only highlight today, was our drive to Rossnowlagh beach and honestly, it was a bit of a mistake, because it was quite crowded and we did not fully enjoy the walk as we would when there’s less people around. We completely forgot that this weekend is in fact a long weekend for many, so they tend to crowd the beaches and these touristic areas along Wild Atlantic Way.

It was still a nice time, as the sun was shining and the weather was warm and dry. Very little wind, or rather a small breeze, added a hint of magic, while Elizabeth walked, and we (Julian and myself) in parallel, were training with the ball, to leverage this vast space at low tide, and polish our soccer skills.

Not much else to report on, so it’s time to wrap up. Stay tuned and see you in the next write up!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started