Welcome to today’s update. Have a quick watch of today’s video episode and join me below for the rest of the write up.

Great weather stays with us (yay) this long Easter weekend, and it looks like it might stay for longer. Finally we can have a breathing space and a bit of a break from rain and gloominess, albeit wind is still blowing quite often. It is a fairly warm breeze though, and when the sun is shining it is actually quite pleasant.

Still no luck with a moment to tackle Roque Nublo footage from GoPro. It’s not a massive task, but it does involve some transferring to the phone, recording intro and then outro, and I’m not even sure how much of that Nublo footage I can actually use, so it must wait until tomorrow, or likely the day after, because I am planning to spend a long day out tomorrow, so realistically, I won’t have enough space in the day to sit and edit that stuff.

Considering that I will drive somewhere and spend the day out hiking, it also means that there will be material to report on anyway, so Roque Nublo once again must wait a bit more. Not sure yet where I’ll go, but I have couple of ideas, one being to revisit Glenveagh National Park and do a half-marathon walk, from car park, to the endpoint of Bridle Path, and whole way back to the start (in the middle, if my legs won’t break, I might attempt to get to waterfall and the beach if time allows).

Today started with a realisation that I woke up later than usual, and that it wasn’t in fact my fault, but rather the fact of daylight savings change, and my biological clock still working in sync with the timing of previous days, week and months. After waking up I took Julian and we drove to get some groceries.

Full circle, from the title though, has two meanings today:

  1. As we are observing Spring symptoms, and we switched the clocks to daylight savings (losing one hour of sleep overnight), it shows that the circle of life is restarting again. What I mean by that is the cuteness overload that we see here, having thousands of sheep in Ireland. The little lambs are here and more and more of them appear every week. Especially those little ones that barely know how to walk, and trip and fall and test their skills, are THE spectacle I always wait for, when it comes to springtime. There is something amazing about watching animals, how they behave, how they sound, how they interact with environment and other animals too, that it is so much like meditation, having calming effect on my mental side. No wonder that some of the more successful therapies indeed include animals.
  2. Another circle is our familiar loop, that today, on Easter Sunday, we decided to use for a family walk, and give ourselves rest from driving anywhere. The loop is around Donegal Town, or at least most of its centre area, and conveniently gives us always about 6 kilometres of decent stroll, with varying level of elevation due to our town being in a hilly area. We enjoyed the weather, our company, the views with the little lambs, too, and overall enjoyed the warm spring vibing day.

After return from our walk we spent some time at home, and later on I agreed to go with Julian to train a little bit of soccer. We decided to walk to Drumbar pitch, play a bit and walk the way home afterwards. We could’ve used a car, but we knew that nobody is playing on the pitches, especially in Easter, and also the weather was very nice, so we decided on a stroll.

Pitch wasn’t wet anymore, nor waterlogged, but it still had that clay like ground, which felt weird when you ran over it and kept kicking the ball – it was almost like some yoga matt, that was underneath the grass.

We’ve spent about 2 hours there (one hour longer than intended), and returned home when it was about the sunset time. Altogether I measured it and it seems that we did good 6 kilometres altogether, even though the walk from our house to Drumbar is less than one kilometre. This means that I ran over the pitch 4+ kilometres, which will probably be felt tomorrow, and I hope it won’t hinder my plans to do the hike.

Other than that, and the evening dinner (my homemade fajitas), not much else to report on. Stay tuned and see you tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started